Wedding Cake – Red Velvet

Thank you to my lovely friend who recommended me to her friend who was getting married!

A couple of weeks ago, I made my first wedding cake. I had met up with the bride who wanted a very simple cake, and enough to feed 150 people for afternoon tea. I am very thankful that she was a unfussy bride and that I was able to produce what she wanted. I’d never done anything on this scale before (I took two days off work to make sure I could manage it). I am also thankful for the use of the church kitchen – it turned out I really needed the fridge space!

All up, I made a 7 inch three layer cutting/photo cake, and three 12×12 inch kitchen slab cakes, all red velvet with cream cheese and mascarpone frosting.

P1000943
P1000941

P1000949

P1000952

P1000953

P1000957

I didn’t go to the wedding, but I got lots of great feedback from people I knew there. The bride wants to recommend me to someone else!

Share your thoughts!

