Not planned, but needed

I love being home when it’s raining. I think more clearly and take more time for things. P1000288

P1000289I had planned to use this weekend to push ahead in my studies. I’ve been feeling a little anxious about the course deadline, whilst looking at how many subjects I have left. I thought with handing in two assignments last week and passing both without any trouble that I would maintain momentum and use this weekend well.

It didn’t quite work out that way. But I don’t think I’m disappointed with how it’s turned out.

I’ve had a lot on the last few weeks and have been exhausted all week. It’s been good to take time out to recover.

So instead of working, I’ve been trying to be a good little housewife, doing the cleaning and washing while Jeh is actually studying, spending time with my parents, quality time with Jeh, reading, and catching up on my bible in a year (I slipped behind after I so heroically caught up over January), procrastibaking (though I’ve shared it with my parents, neighbour and will take the rest to church), and catching up with my neighbour (even though we’ve only been able to hang out a couple of times, we get along so easily). All worth it. I even had a soak in the bath on Friday afternoon.

So while I feel a bit bad about not going to our church weekend away, I do think this was wise. Especially considering how many boxes I was ticking of burn-out symptoms not that long ago. I want to be useful this year, particularly getting back on track with keeping up with relationships.

How do you recover after busy, stressful periods?

Share your thoughts!

