How does your garden grow?

I am no gardener. I killed about three basil plants last year. Mum gave me a couple of plants for my birthday that are hard to kill. One is dead. The other was brought to the edge of its life.

Things are turning around, though. Mum gave me some parsley seeds and they produced a plant that has been handy at dinner time; a friend at work gave me a tip to really boost it. The latest basil plant has been thriving, and has featured in dinner the last two nights. The mint is growing wild.

P1000293

My next challenge is to get the lavender shoots from mum yesterday to grow into a flowering plant.

P1000292

All of this is turning my thumb a little green. I’m beginning to imagine having a backyard with a whole garden. And chickens.

My future dream garden:

  • Roses
  • Lavender
  • Violas
  • Orange blossoms
  • Pansies
  • Geraniums (all of these edible flowers feature in the cookbook I’ve been using lately)
  • Basil
  • Parsley
  • Thyme
  • Mint
  • Chilli
  • Lemon
  • Fig
  • Mango
  • Passionfruit

What’s in your garden?

Share your thoughts!

