Week off

I’ve been waiting for this for a long time. I go through phases at work (everybody does, I imagine, thus is the curse of work) where I really struggle to be joyful and to feel like I’m doing something important. Often, it’s when relationships are more difficult and strained that I find work less enjoyable. For me, this has generally been positive, but I’d been craving some time off for a long time, and it has finally come!

My plan was to use a good chunk of it to study and catch up with my course (do you think I will make a good librarian?). What did I do instead?

2013-09-14 11.46.57

2013-09-14 13.57.05Yes, that’s right. Recycling. Or rather, sorting. I went to Officeworks, bought some new folders, threw a bunch of stuff out, and gave some stuff to my sister. I’ve decided that this week is now a ‘sort-out-my-life’ week (which in real terms means ‘procrastination week’).

Really, though, I think this week is about removing stress. There have been a lot of things I haven’t been able to focus on and give my time to (study is one, ministry prep is another, where there is no particular deadline, and catching up with people, and of course blogging – again I have been silent for some time). Yesterday I started my assignment. I caught up with two friends in the morning and afternoon to read the bible and pray. I even made a doctor’s appointment (I don’t have skin cancer!). Today I plan on finishing that assignment and hopefully gathering readings for the next subject. Tomorrow I will head up to the Central Coast to visit my grandma. Friday, I will be singing at the wedding of some lovely friends. Somewhere in there, I will actually get some rest.

What do you do when you have time off, but you don’t really go away?

Share your thoughts!

