God is Enough – Ray Galea

FxCam_1358316474553

“Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.”
Psalm 73:25

Whilst on Honeymoon part 2, I was using this book (suggested by my friend Claire) for my quiet times. Ray goes through eleven of his favourite Psalms in a “devotional systematic theology” format (and some of them are my favourites too, e.g. 19, 51, 139) covering a lot of the Bible’s major themes. I took his advice and read the Psalm before reading the chapter, and I tried to understand the Psalm for myself and apply it (I’ve really grown to enjoy the Psalms over the last few years, they really are good to read at any time because they often touch you so personally).

It’s one of those books that you can read on your day off. I find that some books are a bit too intense and heavy for when I’m trying to relax, but this is so easy to read, and is so applicable that we shouldn’t feel like we have to wait until we have a couple of hours to read and process it (like some books on my shelf; I still haven’t finished Cross of Christ). But it’s also really solid, because as he goes through each Psalm, he gives the context and original meaning – it’s almost biblical theology, Psalm-style.

For me, reading it as I was heading toward the end of MTS, having a lot of time to think about what I was doing with my life and how I was going to use my time, and heading back to a job that I don’t feel like I’m ‘reaching my full potential’ and go through phases of discontent, it was really helpful to read and reaffirm that God really is enough. I don’t have to focus on my disappointments, failures, but find my identity and worth in God and what he has done for me in Christ, and that God’s plan is much bigger than my little life.

I think it’s time to read the Psalms again – maybe breakfast time should again become Psalm-time. I would love to be able to sincerely say the verse that Ray kept coming back to…

“Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.”
Psalm 73:25

Share your thoughts!

