Work when you work and rest when you rest

“I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow. So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow.” 1 Corinthians 3:6-7

In our staff meeting the other day, we started looking through 10 “gardening” tips for ministry. One was “work when you work and rest when you rest,” which seems to be something that all people who do ministry struggle with.

They say that one of the struggles with working from home is that your work space and rest space is the same and it’s difficult to really rest well when you can still see everything that needs to be done. It would be just so easy to sit down and do a little more, even though you’re resting.

In my case, I started to not like being at home; I would see my desk and start to get stressed, and whenever I sat down to do any work I couldn’t concentrate. So, the other night, I decided to separate my work space. Instead of the bedroom office I had before, my desk is simply for entertainment and personal use:

And for the first time in several years, this space at home is now cleared (for Sundays and evenings, though hopefully after the rush of the first few weeks of semester, I won’t have to do evenings):

This separation is probably one of the most significantly helpful things in being able to work and rest well. I wonder if the same could be done for those who study?

One thought on “Work when you work and rest when you rest

  1. Pingback: MTS Top Ten Tips « Ally's Thoughts

Share your thoughts!

