In God’s timing

I tend to get anxious and upset about the future, particularly when there is something wonderful to look forward to and lots of busy times in the meantime. I have a lot to learn about waiting patiently.

Yesterday I was particularly struggling with this. Then I caught up with a friend who reminded me that God is in control (I always take this phrase for granted, but I’m learning more about what it means); that he actually may have plans other than my own, either to use me or teach me something in that time.

We also read Luke 1 together (for Christmas) and again I was reminded of waiting patiently when we read about Zechariah and Elizabeth.

“Both of them were upright in the sight of God, observing all the Lord’s commandments and regulations blamelessly. But they had no children, because Elizabeth was barren; and they were both well along in years” (Luke 1:6-7)

God promised them a child who would “be great in the sight of the Lord.”

“Many of the people of Israel will he bring back to the Lord their God” (Luke 1:16).

Zechariah doubted (understandably), and God took away his voice until and because, “you did not believe my words, which will come true at their proper time” (Luke 1:20b)

Not only that, but Israel waited a long time (though they are not necessarily a good model of waiting patiently) for their Messiah. God finally fulfilled his promise:

“You will be with child and give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus. He will be great and will be called Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, and he will reign over the house of Jacob forever; his kingdom will never end” (Luke 1:31-33).

I need to remember that God’s plans are bigger than me and that my role is to simply be a faithful servant of his Son. I also need to remember that God has given me much, I have much to be thankful for, and stopping to give him thanks is the perfect antidote to grumbling and despair when I want more.

Share your thoughts!

