Judges

I’ve been reading through the Old Testament, on my way through the whole bible; today I finished Judges. Some of the things that happen are so bizarre and random that I wonder how I’m meant to read this book (is it history? is it narrative with embelishments?)

Judges can pretty much be summed up in two of its verses:

“After that whole generation had been gathered to their fathers, another generation grew up, who neither knew the Lord nor what he had done for Israel.” Judges 2:10

“In those days Israel had no king; everyone did as he saw fit.” Judges 21:25 (the last verse in the book)

I can’t help but see how these two verses are relevant for us today. It makes me quite sad that humanity is so focused on self rather than our Creator, but moves me to prayer that all would come to receive Jesus as their Saviour and worship God with their lives, instead of worshipping themselves. And also pray this for myself, because I am tempted by this as well.

Share your thoughts!

