From the ground up

Creativity is not one of my strengths, so Bon thought it would be a good idea for me to think about creating a new ministry at ECU, from scratch. When she first suggested it, I had no idea where to start. Then it seemed obvious when she mentioned one of the needs/gaps that we thought about at our staff weekend – supporting and reaching the Masters students.

I’m kind of intrigued by the idea. I’m not always one to see a need and think, “I should do something about that,” but I have, on occasion, set myself projects to fill a need (e.g. I’ve been thinking about the multi-sensory room and communication at work), or been interested in new initiatives and started thinking about how they could be implemented elsewhere (e.g. supporting people with disabilities to access different types of ministries, or working out how to reach out to them and their families). I’d still like to think about these, in fact, I was chatting with a friend last night about the disability thing, particularly about using speech path skills to develop resources to explain the gospel clearly to those who have communication difficulties.

It will definitely provide enough of a challenge; I’ll have to work out where to start, what we’d like to achieve, what we could realisitically achieve, how to go about it, plus the challenges of being responsible for a ministry and a new one at that. We’ve already started thinking about some of the unique challenges that students face in the Masters courses. I shall be chatting to some of the Christian students about what they think might help and what they would like support in. Bon assured me that, even if by the end of the year it looks like it’s not working, it’s still valuable to try and will not be a fail even if it fails. It’s reassuring.

Perhaps I can encourage whoever is reading to think about (or keep an eye out for) any needs/gaps they might see in their community/church and be involved in addressing it (our church is starting up an ESL service next year). And maybe even share thoughts.

Share your thoughts!

