God is the Gospel – John Piper

The aim of God is the Gospel is to point us back to the ultimate good of the gospel, “the revelation of the glory of God in the face of Christ,” to have “God-centred joy in the glory of God” (p167). Piper continually plugs his favourite catch-cry, “that God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.”

It’s clear that his joy does come from God alone and that he longs for others to find the same joy in God, through Christ. The gospel truths are all the way through and it is a great reminder and mind-shift back toward God and away from us. He’s all about joy. I wonder if the focus was too much on the joy we need to find in God, rather than on God himself? At times I was tempted to feel guilty that my experience of God is not very emotional; I don’t know if this is correct or not. I also thought, at times, that he is working so hard to get his point across that he looks for verses to support it rather than reading extensively and discovering that it’s what the bible is saying; occasionally I was a bit doubtful about the way he used certain verses, even his choice of verses. I’m left a bit skeptical. However, I can’t deny that the theology he is preaching is true. I think it is; it’s right to take the focus away from us, away from the goodness of his gifts more than him, and toward finding joy in knowing God himself through what he has done and revealed through the gospel of Jesus Christ.

This is the first book I’ve read by Piper and I’m unsure about reading any more; I just wonder if they’ll say anything different? I heard him speak at Engage (KCC) this year, and most of the things he preached, I’d already heard in his book and others had read in his other books. I would recommend it; it seems to be one of his lesser known books, from people I’ve spoken to, so it would be interesting to see if it adds anything to his other books.

Though perhaps the problem is not the book, but my lack of prayer and effort to look to God more in response to what I was reading.

For more of my thoughts on God is the Gospel, look here and here.

Share your thoughts!

