Learning to be Christ-like

I wonder if, in having the slow, unstressful finish that I did this semester, I actually didn’t learn as much as I could have if I had struggled more… Not to compare my year to the other girls, but they were able to reflect and identify much more easily the things that stood out, in terms of what God taught them, the good and the hard things.

I suppose one of the things that has stood out to me this year is that we are made more Christ-like through trials.
“And we know that for those who love God, all things will work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.” (Romans 8:28-29)
I feel like I learned this more intellectually, because I tended to avoid things that I knew were hard.

So, I know that trials are good and have a purpose, but I also really don’t want to go through them. I’m sure God will continue to teach me – perhaps even this lesson in not having trials will prepare me for the trials to come. I think there’s even a bit of regret, not in escaping trial, but in not working to be as useful as I could have with the time I’ve had. I can’t change the past, but I can learn from it, and in the words of the great Scarlett O’Hara, “tomorrow is another day.” (Sorry for the really corny ending there, it had to be done).

Share your thoughts!

