Perspective

I was hoping to get to sleep early tonight, and reflect tomorrow, but I feel like I just need to write stuff down now.
Tonight at bible study, during prayer point sharing time, I had a bit of a vent about walk-up (again). Some very helpful feedback was, “get rid of the expectation that you’ll have an awesome God-conversation every time. Once that’s gone, it’s heaps easier to just talk to people.”
So helpful! And yet I feel guilty that, after a bible study on Hebrews 12:1-11, this piece of earthly, reasoned wisdom was more helpful and comforting than,
“Our fathers disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share in his holiness. No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and piece for those who have been trained by it” (vs 10-11).
Not that I expect discipline to be comforting, but knowing that God is behind me and with me in all things should give me greater security than common sense.
Share your thoughts!

