What is MTS?

To be honest, I’m still working this out. How does a Ministry Apprenticeship work? Unlike other Apprenticeships, it’s not simply learning a set of skills in practice. While I will be growing and changing in my Conviction, Character and Competence (read Trellis and the Vine), part of it, I’ve worked out, is learning just where my conviction, character and competence are at.
Not only that, but I’m readjusting my expectations of myself in this role – I keep classing myself as staff, but really, I’m trainee staff. I think at times the students understand this better than I do – I think while I was a student, I looked up to the MTSers and saw these strong, mature Christians, and didn’t understand the learning side of MTS or the struggles they were going through. I think from this, I’ll be able to be more open about my weaknesses and struggles, and see the highlights in a new light. I hope.
Share your thoughts!

