Work and contentment

We’ve been reading Ecclesiastes at church and hearing it explained. I was impressed that our minister was able to make us laugh in the first sermon – that’s not always my reaction when I read Ecclesiastes.
The women of our church have also been encouraging each other to read a couple of chapters per week and post up some thoughts on facebook. I’ve really enjoyed reading what the other women have found uplifting and rebuking in each reading. One of the favourite verses this week was, “He has made everything beautiful in its time, “ (3:11a) and reflecting on contentment and wishing we were in the next season already.
I resonated with this. I’ve been struggling with job satisfaction, and wondering, I guess, what my next season will look like.At the same time, one of the questions I’ve been pondering for the last while is: where does the idea of the resurrection come in the Old Testament? There just seems like there’s no hope at the end of chapter 3, if “that is his lot” (3:22).
There is a sense that we can be content with the season that we are in, knowing that not everything we delight in and work for is in vain, a “chasing after the wind.”
“I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that men will revere him.” (3:14)
“For whom am I toiling?” (4:8)
I wonder what it would look and feel like if this were always true:
“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” (Colossians 3:23-24).
Share your thoughts!

