God is the Gospel- Chapter 7

So, most of this book is great. I just read chapter 7 and discussed it with a friend, and we weren’t that impressed by it.
The chapter is called The Gospel- The Glory of the Gladness of God. I was really excited when I saw that it was only four pages long, which meant that my last-minute reading would actually get done. But then I read it; I feel like it would add if it just weren’t included.
While Piper bases most of these pages around bible verses and explaining them, he does it in a really odd way.
“We also know that law is made not for the righteous but for lawbreakers and rebels, the ungodly and sinful, the unholy and irreligious; for those who kill their fathers or mothers, for murderers, for adulterers and perverts, for slave traders and liars and perjurers- and for whatever is contrary to the sound doctrine that conforms to the glorious gospel of the blessed God, which he entrusted to me.” 1 Timothy 1:11 (NIV)
I’ll follow his advice and accept that the translation may read “according to the gospel of the glory of the blessed God.” (ASV) His argument all the way through the book has been that the gospel reveals the glory of God, most clearly in Christ. I’m unconvinced that in the context, this verse (and he did not quote the context, only the section here in the ASV) is pointing to the “gospel of the glory of the happy/glad God.”
He also uses John 17:26, “I made known to them your name, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.” Piper says, “we should realise from John 17:26 that Jesus made God known so that God’s pleasure in his Son might be in us and become our pleasure in Christ.” I’m not sure where he gets this idea from. For only using four pages for this topic (on which he wrote a separate book, The Pleasures of God: Meditations on God’s Delight in Being God, which is an interesting title and would be interesting to read, I imagine), he could have either: not written it at all, or spent a bit more time fleshing out and making the connection clearer.
I’m hardly an authority on this, so if anyone has any insight, please do share it. Otherwise, though, the rest of God is the Gospel has been true to God’s word, eye-opening and heart-warming.
One thought on “God is the Gospel- Chapter 7

  1. Pingback: God is the Gospel – John Piper | Ally's Thoughts

Share your thoughts!

